Zur Facebook Seite Zum Youtube Channel Zu Instagramm Zu Twitter
Sprachen: DE | NL | EN | FR | IT | ES | KR
 
 
Stendker discus feed » Feeding and Feed

Feeding and Feed for our STENDKER Discus Fish Stendker frozen discus feed

Our tip for easy, all-round feeding of discus fish:
Continue to feed our discus fish 3 x per day with the STENDKER Discus Feed they are accustomed to. We have successfully used this feed as a complete feed in our discus hatchery for more than 47 years.
Other species of fish also enjoy our feed. (Available in specialist pet shops as frozen feed)

Dosage and Feeding
Please feed your fish 3 x per day with our STENDKER Discus Feed.
1 x morning (1 hour after the daytime lighting is switched on)
1 x midday (preferably at the same time each day)
1 x evening (2 hours before the daytime lighting is switched off)

Discus fish become accustomed to their regular feeding times and will be waiting for their feed expectantly. This makes it possible to hand-feed them before long. When hand-feeding, you must of course have clean hands, free of traces of soap or hand lotion (scrub your hands thoroughly under running water).

Feed Dosage for our “Good Heart” STENDKER Discus Feed:
Our feed is ideally suited as a complete feed. Please do not feed too much and be certain to defrost prior to feeding. . (Tip: defrost the feed in a plastic container with a well-sealing lid in your fridge the night before feeding)
For 10 discus fish with a size of:
- 6,5 to 12 cm (2,5” to 4,7”), you will need approx. ½ to 1 blister (2,5 to 5 g / 0,1 to 0,2 oz), per meal (per meal, which corresponds to 7,5 to 15 g / 0,3 – 0,5 oz, per day.)
- 12 to 18 cm (4,7” to 7”), you will need approx. 1 to 1 ½ blisters (5 to 7,5 g / 0,2 - 0,3 oz) per meal, which corresponds to 15 to 22,5 g / 0,5 – 0,75 oz, per day

Give your fish the amount of feed, which they completely eat within five minutes. Please do not feed greater amounts, as uneaten feed rests will impact very negatively on the aquarium water quality and water chemistry values. Discus fish sometimes over-eat, as they do not have a pronounced sense of satiation. Providing too much feed may lead to over-feeding.

Please be absolutely certain to defrost frozen feed before feeding!
Discus feed dislike feed which is hard in texture
and may lose their appetite, if they bite into frozen feed. In addition, feed which is still frozen has been known to cause inflammations of the air bladder or inflammations of the intestine in some discus fish.
Depending on the size of your aquarium and the number of fish, it can be helpful to feed in 2-3 separate feeding locations, as this gives the weaker fish in your group a good chance to feed too. The defrosted feed can easily be split into smaller portions using a knife or spoon, which you can also use for feeding. Our discus fish and other companion fish eat our feed very quickly and eagerly.

Should you not have the time to be able to feed your fish 3 times per day, then it is generally sufficient to feed them in the morning and evening. The total daily feed amount should remain the same. However, for smaller discus fish (less than 8 cm / 3” in size), three meals per day arepreferable, to ensure steady growth. You can also give your fish small snacks, e.g. mosquito larvae. (However, please do not feed red mosquito larvae, as these often live in unsanitary waterways and could contaminate your aquarium with pathogens.)

Instructions for defrosting STENDKER Frozen Discus Feed:
Remove the required amount of frozen feed for 2 days (with 3 feeds per day) from your freezer.

TIP:
Using gardening pruners/ secateurs, you can easily cut the required feed amount from the frozen 500 g / 17,64 oz feed slabs. You can also cut the feed into small portions.

When our frozen feed is defrosted, it will keep for approx. 2 – 3 days in your fridge.,
This means that you do not need to defrost food daily. Place the frozen feed in a plastic container with a well-sealing lid. Place this container in your fridge, for gradual defrosting. After approx. 6 hours, the defrosted feed is ready for use. Should your defrosted feed begin to ferment or smell unpleasant after a few days, please discard it and thoroughly clean the plastic container with hot water. Then defrost some new feed for the next two days. Please do not defrost the feed in a kitchen strainer under running water, as this will wash out important vitamins.

Because our discus fish are accustomed to and love our Discus Feed, they go positively wild about it, which is a little reminiscent of Piranhas! Don’t be concerned, if all you see at the end of a meal is a “cloud of dust”. Our feed is eaten very eagerly and quickly.

What makes our STENDKER Discus Feed so good:
We have been breeding discus fish for over 45 years (in Germany) and during this time, we have developed a feed-mix which caters especially to the needs of discus fish. We feed the discus fish in our hatchery exclusively with our STENDKER Discus Feed. It contains everything discus fish need for a healthy diet and is ideally suited as a complete feed. STENDKER Discus Feed contains a blend of beef heart, vegetable content and much more, which plays a big role in keeping our fish healthy.

When you see our fish, you’ll be able to tell straight away how well they thrive on our STENDKER Discus Feed. Why not try our feed and form your own opinion? The quality of a feed naturally depends upon: meticulous feed production, the right mixing ratios of the contents, high-quality ingredients and composition, and gentle processing. You can rest assured that we have taken all of these factors into consideration, so that our discus fish are healthy and thrive.

So that you can feed your discus fish with high-quality, comprehensive and easy-to-use feed, we sell our STENDKER Discus Feed as an all-round, complete feed in specialist pet shop. Our STENDKER Discus Frozen Feed is available as 30 gram / 1 oz tubes, 100 gram / 3,5 oz blister packs and 200 or 500 gram / 17 oz labs.
This wholesome and balanced feed-mix plays an important role in keeping your fish healthy, in ensuring the vibrant colours of your fish, and in promoting good growth and reproduction. Ask your specialist pet shop for information on our discus feed. Tip: using gardening pruners/secateurs, you can easily cut the required feed from the frozen.

Did you know?: Other species of fish love our discus feed too and your aquarium plants will probably not need any extra fertiliser, if you feed your fish with our discus feed.

General information about feeding discus fish

Beef heart as a discus feed has been criticised in the media because “there are no cattle in the Amazon for discus fish to eat”. We consider this criticism to be unwarranted. Beef cattle are not treated with hormones and are regularly tested accordingly by veterinarians. Beef heart is animal protein, which discus fish would eat in the wild in the form of small crustaceans, worms and insect larvae. As some of these feeds are hard to source in our part of the world, are expensive or have high toxin/ pollutant levels, beef heart is a popular source of protein for discus fish. However, we consider beef heart not to be sufficient as the only source of nutrients for discus fish.

Turkey heart should not be fed, in our opinion, as turkeys are usually fattened using hormones, so that they reach their slaughter weight within 12 weeks. These hormones accumulate in the tissue of the turkey’s heart. Hormone traces in turkey heart discus feeds can result in the fish reaching sexual maturity artificially early (at the age of 6 months, instead of after 1 ½ years). For this reason, we do not feed our discus fish with turkey heart.

Red mosquito larvae and Tubifex are also not suitable as a discus feed, in our opinion. Both animals live in very unsanitary water (liquid manures) and can easily spread bacterial infections to your aquarium.

Cyclopes are also not suitable, in our opinion, as these are often infected with tapeworm larvae. After feeding, the larvae develop into tapeworms inside the discus fish and can lead to massively impaired growth.

Dried feeds are also not very suitable for discus fish, in our opinion, as discus fish do not enjoy eating dried feeds. This results in the discus fish not eating enough and hence getting too few nutrients. To ensure normal growth and stable health in the long term, dried feed is insufficient as a source of nutrients, in our opinion.

Other types of frozen feed, e.g. water fleas, brine shrimp (Artemia), small crustaceans, white and black mosquito larvae are good supplementary feeds, in our opinion. However, these are just “treats” and not suitable as a main feed because the nutrient content of these feed types is quite low.

Additional Information: Refusal to feed after transport and introduction
As the process of transport and introduction to a new aquarium is quite stressful for fish, discus fish (especially larger sized discuses) may not begin feeding for up to four weeks. Smaller discus fish (up to 14 cm / 5,5”) are more stress-tolerant, feel at home in their new surroundings more quickly and generally start feeding well the day after being added to your aquarium. As our discus fish are generally well-nourished, a refusal to feed for four weeks does not pose a serious problem for almost fully-grown discuses. We recommend that you gradually raise the temperature of your aquarium water to 33°C / 91°F for approx. two weeks, if your fish are refusing to feed after transport. (Don’t forget to remove your plants first!) The raised temperature will increase your fishes’ metabolic rate and their appetite. Also, our discus fish will begin feeding more easily, if you continue to feed them the STENDKER Discus Feed, which they are accustomed to.

 
 
   
These fish are available only from specialist aquatic centres. (Retailer list).
 
   
Diskuszucht Stendker GmbH & Co. KG . Am Holzbach 18 . D-48231 Warendorf . Tel.: +49 (0) 2581 606 27 . Fax: +49 (0) 2581 633 205 . diskuszucht_stendker@t-online.de AGB | IMPRESSUM

Zur Facebook Seite Zum Youtube Channel Zu Instagramm Zu Twitter
Sprachen: DE | NL | EN | FR | IT | ES | KR
 
 
Diskus-Futter » Fütterung

Fütterung und Futter für unseren STENDER-Diskusfische STENDKER-Diskusfutter

Unser Tipp zur einfachen und umfassenden Fütterung von Diskusfischen:
Füttern Sie unsere Diskusfische weiterhin 3 x täglich mit unserem STENDKER-Diskusfutter. Es hat sich seit mehr als 47 Jahren in unserem Diskuszuchtbetrieb als Alleinfutter bewährt.
Unser Futter wird auch vom anderen Fischen gerne gefressen. (Beim Zoofachhandel als Frostfutter erhältlich)

Dosierung und Fütterung
Bitte füttern Sie die Ihre Fische 3 x täglich, mit unsrem STENDKER-Diskusfutter.
1 x morgens (1 Stunde nach dem das Licht eingeschaltet wurde)
1 x mittags (gerne immer zur selben Zeit)
1 x abends (2 Stunden bevor das Licht ausgeschaltet wird).

Die Diskusfische gewöhnen sich an diesen regelmäßige Futterzeiten und werden Sie schon sehnsüchtig erwarten. So ist eine Fütterung aus der Hand (natürlich Creme- und Seifenfreien Händen (gut unter fließendem Wasser abbürsten) sehr schnell möglich.

Futter-Dosierung unseres STENDKER-Diskusfutter GoodHeart:
Unser Futter ist als Alleinfutter bestens geeignet, bitte nicht zu viel füttern und unbedingt vorher auftauen. (Tipp: ein Abend vorher im Kühlschrank in eine Frischhaltedose mit Deckel auftauen)
Für 10 Diskusfische mit einer Größe von :
- 6,5 bis 12 cm, pro Mahlzeit  ca. ½-1 Blister (2,5-5 Gramm), also 7,5-15 Gramm am Tag.
- 12 bis 18 cm, pro Mahlzeit  ca. 1-1 1/2 Blister (5-7,5 Gramm), also 15-22,5 Gramm am Tag.

Geben Sie den Tieren etwa so viel Futter, wie die Fische in fünf Minuten gefressen haben.
Bitte nicht mehr füttern, da nicht gefressene Futterrückstände die Wasserqualität und Wasserwerte erheblich verschlechtern. Diskusfisch haben kein ausgeprägtes Sättigungsgefühl und ein zu viel an Futter könnte zur Überfütterung der Tiere führen.

Bitte tauen Sie unser Frostfutter unbedingt vor der Fütterung auf! Die Diskusfische mögen kein hartes Futter und verlieren den Appetit, wenn sie in etwas Gefrorenes beißen. Darüber hinaus kann das gefroren Futter (in einzelnen Fällen) auch dazu führen, dass die Diskusfische eine Schwimmblasenentzündung oder Entzündungen des Darms bekommen können.
Je nach Größe des Beckens und Anzahl der Fische haben sich 2-3 Futterstellen bewährt, damit auch die in der Gruppe schwächeren Tiere gute Chancen haben an das Futter zu kommen. Das aufgetaute Futter lässt sich gut mit einem Messer oder Löffel portionieren und verfüttern. Unsere Diskusfische und auch andere Beifische fressen unser Futter sehr schnell und gerne.

Sollte Sie es aus zeitlichen Gründen nicht einrichten können Ihre Fische 3 mal täglich zu füttern, reicht es in der Regel auch aus, nur morgens und abends zu füttern. Jedoch sollte die Tagesfuttermenge gleich bleiben. Jedoch ist es bei kleineren Diskusfischen (unter 8 Zentimeter Größe) zu empfehlen, bei drei Mahlzeiten am Tag zu bleiben um ein gleichmäßiges Wachstum zu gewährleisten.
Gerne können Sie auch zusätzliche leichte Snacks, wie z.B. Mückenlarven (aber bitte nicht die roten Mückenlarven, da diese oft in verunreinigten Gewässern leben und dadurch Krankheiten in Ihr Aquarium einschleppen könnten).

Auftauanleitung von STENKDER-Diskus-Frostfutter:
Entnehmen Sie in etwa so viel Frostfutter aus Ihrem Gefrierfach, wie Sie für 2 Tage (á 3 Mahlzeiten am Tag) benötigen.

TIPP:
Mit einer Rosenschere lässt sich die benötigte Futtermenge sehr einfach von der gefrorenen 500g Futtertafel, zu portionsgerechte Stücken, schneiden.

Unser aufgetautes Frostfutter hält sich ca. 2-3 Tage im Kühlschrank,
daher brauchen Sie den Auftauvorgang nicht täglich zu wiederholen. Füllen Sie das gefrorene Futter in eine Frischhaltebox und schließen Sie diese mit dem dazugehörigen Deckel. Diese Futterdose stellen Sie anschließend, zum schonenden Auftauen, in den Kühlschrank. Nach ca. 6 Stunden können Sie das aufgetaute Futter bereits verwenden. Sollte das Futter nach einigen Tagen anfangen zu gären oder unangenehm riechen, waschen Sie das Futtergefäß bitte gründlich mit heißem Wasser aus und entnehmen Sie eine neue Frostfuttermenge für die kommenden zwei Tage. Bitte tauen sie das Futter nicht mit einem Sieb unter fließendem Wasser auf, da Sie sonst die wichtigen Vitamine wegspülen würden.

Unsere Diskusfische kennen und lieben unser Diskusfutter, deshalb stürzen sie sich förmlich darauf, was teilweise an Piranhas erinnert. Erschrecken Sie nicht, wenn Sie zum Schluss nur noch eine „Staubwolke“ sehen. Unser Futter wird sehr schnell gefressen.

Warum unser STENDKER-Diskusfutter so gut ist:
Wir züchten Diskusfische seit mehr als 45. Jahren (in Deutschland) und haben im Laufe dieser Zeit eine speziell auf die Bedürfnisse von Diskusfischen abgestimmte Futtermischung entwickelt. Unser STENDKER-Diskusfutter füttern wir ausschließlich an unsere eigenen Diskusfische in unserem Zuchtbetrieb. Es enthält alles, was Diskusfische für eine gesunde Ernährung brauchen und ist als Alleinfutter bestens geeignet. STENDKER-Diskusfutter enthält eine Mischung aus Rinderherz, Gemüseanteilen u.v.m. , welches erheblich zur Gesunderhaltung unserer Tiere beiträgt.

Wenn Sie unsere Tiere sehen, erkennen sie gleich, wie gut es den Diskusfischen mit unserem STENDKER-Diskusfutter geht. Bilden Sie sich Ihre eigene Meinung und probieren Sie es doch einfach mal aus. Selbstverständlich sind die Qualität des Futters abhängig von der sorgfältigen Herstellung, vom richtigen Mischungsverhältnis, der Hochwertigkeit der Zutaten, der Zusammensetzung und der schonende Zubereitung. Bei unserm Futter können Sie sicher sein, dass wir alle diese Faktoren berücksichtigt haben, damit die Diskusfische sich wohl und gesund fühlen.
Um auch Ihnen eine qualitativ hochwertige, umfassende und sehr einfache Fütterung zu ermöglichen, bieten wir unser STENDKER-Diskusfutter, als vollwertiges Alleinfutter, über den Zoofachhandel an. Unser STENDKER-Diskus-Frostfutter ist erhältlich als 100 Gramm Blister, 200 und 500 Gramm Flachtafeln. Diese gute und ausgewogene Futtermischung trägt erheblich zur Gesunderhaltung, Farbenpracht, Fortpflanzung und zum Wachstum der Diskusfische bei. Fragen Sie Ihren Zoofachhändler.

Übrigens: Auch andere Fische lieben unser Futter.

Zum Futter für Diskusfische allgemein

Rinderherz
wurde als Futtermittel für Diskusfische als „es laufen auch keine Rinder im Amazonas“ unserer Meinung nach zu Unrecht in den Medien verurteilt. Rinder werden nicht mit Hormonen behandelt, was regelmäßig durch Tierärzte untersucht wird. Bei Rinderherz handelt es sich um ein tierisches Eiweiß, welches der Diskusfisch in der freien Natur durch Kleinkrebse, Würmer und Insektenlarven aufnimmt. Da in unseren Breitengraden einige dieser Tierarten kaum zu finden sind, teuer und teilweise erheblich belastet vorkommen, wird in unserer Region gerne Rinderherz als Eiweißlieferant für Diskusfischfutter verwendet. Selbstverständlich reicht Rinderherz als Alleinfutter, unserer Meinung nach, für Diskusfische nicht aus.

Truthahnherz ist unserer Meinung nach abzulehnen, da Truthähne in der Regel mit Hormonen, innerhalb von zwölf Wochen, auf Schlachtgewicht gebracht werden und diese Hormone sich im Herzen der Truthähne anreichern. Da diese Hormonrückstände in Truthahnherzen als Futtermittel für Diskusfische dazu führen kann, dass die Fische früher künstlich geschlechtsreif werden (in 6 Monate, statt in 1 1/2 Jahren), werden wir Truthahnherzen nicht an unsere Diskusfische verfüttern.

Auch von roter Mückenlarven und Tubifex als Futtermittel für Diskusfische raten wir ab, da beide Futtersorten aus einem stark verunreinigten Wasser kommen (Jauche) und oft bakterielle Infektionen ins Aquarium einschleppen.

Von Zyklopskrebsen raten wir ebenfalls ab, da diese oft Bandwurmlarven in sich tragen, die sich nach dem Fressen in dem Diskusfisch zum Bandwurm entwickeln und zu massiven Wachstums-störungen führen können.

Trockenfutter, egal welcher Art, ist unserer Meinung nach ebenfalls nicht ausreichend für Diskusfische geeignet, da die Tiere dieses Futter nicht gern genug fressen und deshalb zu wenig davon in sich aufnehmen. Um ein normales Wachstum und eine stabile Gesundheit auf Dauer zu gewährleisten reicht die Versorgung, unserer Meinung nach, mit Trockenfutter nicht aus.
Andere Frostfutterarten, wie z.B. Wasserflöhe, Artemia, Müsis, weiße und schwarze Mückenlarven halten wir für ein gutes Beifutter, sind aber nur als “Bonbon“ zu sehen, da der Nährwert dieses Futters doch sehr gering ist.

Zusatz: Futterverweigerung nach Transport und Einsatz
Nach dem für die Tiere doch sehr stressigen Transport und dem Umsetzen der Diskusfische in Ihrem Becken kann sich, insbesondere bei den größeren Fischen, die Futteraufnahme um bis zu vier Wochen verzögern. Die kleineren Diskusfische (bis 14 cm) sind da unempfindlicher, fühlen sich in ihrer neuen Umgebung schneller wohl und fressen in der Regel schon am nächsten Tag recht gut. Da unsere Diskusfische aber generell wohlgenährt sind, stellt diese Futterverweigerung bei nahezu ausgewachsenem Diskus über diesen Zeitpunkt noch kein ernsthaftes Problem da. Wir empfehlen in solch einem Fall die Wassertemperatur Ihres Aquariums langsam auf 33°C, für etwa zwei Wochen, zu erhöhen (denken Sie bitte an die Pflanzen,  vorher umsetzen!). Dies regt den Stoffwechsel und damit auch den Appetit der Diskusfische an. Wenn unsere Diskusfische ihr gewohntes Futter (STENDKER-Diskusfutter) weiter erhalten, ist der Einstieg leichter.



 
 
   
Der Verkauf erfolgt nur über den Zoofachhandel (Händlerliste).
 
   
Diskuszucht Stendker GmbH & Co. KG . Am Holzbach 18 . D-48231 Warendorf . Tel.: +49 (0) 2581 606 27 . Fax: +49 (0) 2581 633 205 . diskuszucht_stendker@t-online.de AGB | IMPRESSUM